Hi Hi World,

As you might have guessed from the title of this post I grew another year older this week. So bearing that in mind, I thought I’d share a brain dump on my feelings this week.

First feeling was terror. I spent a good two weeks working up to my birthday, knowing it was coming, just fearing it. “I’m getting older, I don’t want to get older, that means I should get a man, get married and have some babies soon” – pretty much that was on replay through my brain as I contemplated how getting older means more responsibilities. Society says that the older you get, the more mature you should become, you should move out, become a homeowner (good luck in london), buy an ISA, understand finances (do they give lessons in that).

Next comes the self deprecation. “I’ve got fine lines around my eyes!” Wrinkles!” Instead of looking in the mirror you stare! You search for the signs that you really are getting older, you tear yourself apart telling yourself how awful you look now that you are almost a whole year older.

Finally you come to realise that you should be happy about a reason to celebrate try and forget why you are doing it and party like there is no tomorrow.

 

That’s what I think most people go through when their birthday is just around the corner. But here is what I think we should consider; it’s a new year of life, a clean slate, an opportunity! It’s like new years eve, a time where you can analyse yourself and decide to change.

I feel like so many people only focus on the negatives. I listened to a podcast recently, (one of my new favourite things) which said something really interesting. At a one year olds’ birthday party, everyone is celebrating! It’s joy and enthusiasm for what life may bring to this little bundle of joy. But as we get older the fun and love for life lessens and we lose that sense of happiness when we celebrate another year of life, commiserating instead on all the things we haven’t achieved yet, comparing ourselves to others and putting ourselves down.

My new age resolution is to focus more on me. To do things that I enjoy and to treat myself better. Whether that means eating healthier (god knows I need to start cutting down on junk) or trying to exercise more (another goal of mine for the past, who knows how long…) to simpler things like taking the time to care for my skin, every day, twice a day or taking the time to stop and drink more water at work, to take my breaks at work. Basically to look after myself, because if I don’t, who else is going to.

Let me know what your new age resolution is in the comments below. And remember, it doesn’t need to be new years eve, or even a birthday. Tomorrow is Monday, the start of a new week… so, what’s your Monday Resolution? Let me know in the comments… let’s start a conversation!

Kisses.

