No excuses, this blog should have been up ages ago but here we go.

I Was Here by Gayle Forman was a thought provoking read. The story follows 18 year old Cody through the traumatic months following her best friends suicide. Cody teams up with Megs college friends as she tries to figure out how it has happened. She is convinced that someone must be to blame. Cody discovers that Meg was conversing in an online chat room which encourages people to suicide. Cody makes it her mission to track down the individual who led Meg to her death. The story is tragic but exceptionally well written. With the feelings of pain and love and loyalty perfectly presented. It takes you through the stages of grief  walking with Cody as the best friend of the girl who died. It made my heart clench and break with Cody as she discovered she didn’t know as much as she thought about the person she called the better half of me.

Definitely worth the read!

Next up is Finding Audrey  by Sophie Kinsella. Sophie is an author I have long known and loved. Her books always take me away with them and I get carried into the lives of her characters. Finding Audrey is no different. Audrey is a frightened 14 year old girl, too frightened to talk to strangers, too frightened to go outside and definitely too frightened to look at the world without her dark glasses. So when her brother’s computer gaming friend takes a liking to her the passing of notes opens her up to a new way of tackling her anxiety disorder. She works with him and her family and her therapist to try and overcome her social anxieties and the story takes us on her journey. Whether or not she makes it across the finish line I’ll leave you to find out for yourselves. It’s a great read, insightful and romantic in balance with humour and real life problems. I loved it. Thank you Ms Kinsella for another fabulous book.

The last book in this long awaited book club is Jennifer Nivens’ All the Bright Places. Now I read this book a looong time before I saw it was in Zoe’s Book Club with WHSmith. I completely fell into the story and I loved the chemistry between our characters; Violet and Finch. They have both suffered a tragedy, both want to end their lives. They meet trying to do just that. on the edge of the bell tower at their school both hesitating before the act. It brings them together and they join each other in a journey trying to find light in their worlds. It’s a journey that is full of ups and downs, full of insight and romance and… I can’t say anymore without giving away the plot. So go and read and tell me what you thought in the comments!

Until Next Time.

Kisses.

